Browse
 

Html CSS Menu Css3Menu.com

Tools
Categories

 Featured
How to upgrade to Legacy Family Tree 8.0

Author: Jim Terry Reference Number: AA-00421 Views: 2997 Created: 2013-11-11 05:43 PM Last Updated: 2014-03-10 11:45 AM 0 Rating/ Voters

There should be no problems upgrading from an earlier version of Legacy Family Tree to the new version. You can use your Legacy current version customer number to purchase Legacy Family Tree 8.0 at a special discount price. You will then be issued a new customer number -- It will start with an 8. You can find your version current customer number by clicking on Help and selecting General Information.
Please Click Here.

The first time you open a family file created in a past version of Legacy in Legacy 8.0, you will see a message to the effect that the file is an older format that needs to be converted because of new features. For more information please Click Here.

There are rarely any problems doing the file conversion, but here are some steps to take to ensure no data is lost:

1. Before upgrading to Legacy 8.0, run File Maintenance on the family file in your older version of Legacy. Click on File > File Maintenance > Check/Repair.

2. Before upgrading to Legacy 8.0, backup up your family file in your older version of Legacy. If you didn't do these steps, the chances are very good that nothing bad will happen and the file conversion to the new format will be error free. If something does happen, contact Technical Support.

* There is no backwards compatibility. A Legacy 8.0 family file cannot be opened in an older version of the program. To get the data back into an older version, you will need to make the transfer with a GEDCOM file. No data is lost.

You may also wish to view the FREE Legacy for Beginners training video. Watch it now by following this link: http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/Redirect/TrainingVideos.asp.

Legacy Family Tree 8.0 installs to your computer's Program Files directory. If you have Windows 8, Windows 7 or Windows Vista, there is no need to set the User Account Control to Never Notify as was done for Legacy 7.5 and earlier.